NYC Long Wearing Nail Polish in Rock the Party! Review and Swatches

Hey guys! It makes me really sad to say this, but Rock the Party was a bit of a disappointment for me.

Let me preface this by saying that I had seen a few of these beetle-shell-oil-spill-y looking nail polishes pop up recently. I was super excited to find this one because, as you might know, all NYC Long Wearing polishes are around $1 each. I had it in my mind that this polish would be opaque and have an intense duochrome finish.  So maybe it was all the expectations that I had built up that made this polish such a disappointment for me.


As you can see, this polish is clearly (pun intended) not opaque. One of the fingers above has 3 coats of polish, and another has just one, and you can barely tell the difference. So layering coats on top of each other wasn’t going to solve the sheerness problem.


I tried layering Rock the Party on top of a white base. Again, this is 3 coats and you can barely tell it’s there at all.

I’m super sad that I didn’t like this polish because I was so excited to finally find this awesome beetle-duochrome (yes, that’s what it’ll officially be known as from now on in this blog) at such a great price. The duochrome actually shows up decently, but because the polish isn’t opaque at all, it kind of just looks like I shut my fingertips in a door or something. Not a good look for any occasion.

Maybe the polish really is fabulous and I’m just doing it wrong? Anyone else have this polish? I’d love to hear your thoughts on it! I really do want to love this one, so I might try it again over a purple or green base coat sometime.

7 thoughts on “NYC Long Wearing Nail Polish in Rock the Party! Review and Swatches

  1. I was also let down by this nail polish. I layered it over black and still didn’t get the look I wanted. A color that does work is by sinful colors. Unfortunately it’s limited edition, but . It’s called MY TURN from the leather collection. from put to layers of MY TURN and two layers of ROCK THE PARTY then a topcoat. Turned out exactly how I imagined rock the party should have looked.

Leave a Reply

